The Maine Islands Coalition (MIC) is a collaboration of island communities, facilitated by Island Institute staff, that discusses and, when possible, reaches consensus on issues brought forward by its appointed community representatives.

Initiated at a meeting hosted by the Institute in the fall of 2002, and formally organized in 2003, the Maine Islands Coalition sets its own agenda and schedules meetings four to five times a year. The purpose of the group is to provide a consistent—if not always unified—voice for islands in Augusta, to the press, and to outside groups. Since islands are generally sparsely populated, this provides a group of citizens with common interests and problems a stronger voice at the state level.

Maine Islands Coalition representatives are selected by town officials in order to make sure that the representatives are somehow accountable to the people they represent. A term of appointment lasts three years, and there are no term limits.


MIC Representatives

MIC representatives and alternates are appointed or elected by the governing officials of the town or in the case of non-municipal islands, a local association or civic group of the community.

Bob Ernest—Chebeague, MIC Member

Beverly Johnson—Chebeague, MIC Alternate

Roger Berle—Cliff Island, MIC Member

Cheryl Crowley—Cliff Island, MIC Alternate

Ingrid Gaither—Cranberry Isles, MIC Member

Jan Keiper—Frenchboro, MIC Member

Rachel Bishop—Frenchboro, MIC Alternate

Kate Ford—Great Diamond Island, MIC Member

Kendra Chubbuck— Isle au Haut, MIC Co-Chair

Peggi Stevens—Isle au Haut,  MIC Alternate

Shey Conover—Islesboro, MIC Member

Gabe Pendleton—Islesboro, MIC Alternate

Arch Gillies—Islesboro, MIC Alternate

Janice Avignon—Long Island, MIC Member

Mark Greene—Long Island, MIC Alternate

Eva Murray—Matinicus, MIC Member

Laurie Webber—Matinicus, MIC Alternate

Carley Feibusch—Monhegan, MIC Member

Jim Buccheri—Monhegan, MIC Alternate

Kat Alexander—North Haven, MIC Member

Ellen Mahoney—Peaks, MIC Co-Chair

Faith York—Peaks, MIC Alternate

Donna Wiegle—Swan’s Island, MIC Member

Catherine Haley—Vinalhaven, MIC Member




2024 Meeting Schedule

Dates could be subject to change depending on speaker availability.

  • January 23, 11am–3pm, In-Person in Augusta
    Topic: Discussions about storm impact, island issues, and policy with legislators and state officials
  • March 21, 5pm–6:30pm, Remote, hosted on Zoom
    Topic: Island Working Waterfronts
  • May 3, 10am–11:30am, Remote, hosted on Zoom
    Topic: Municipal Leader Engagement and Capacity Building
  • September 20, 10am–2pm, In-Person in Rockland
    Topic: Policy and Legislative Strategy
Ellen Mahoney, Co-Chair
Kendra Chubbuck, Co-Chair

For more information about the Maine Islands Coalition, please contact:

Kate Tagai
Senior Community Development Director
Island Institute

Phone: (207) 594-9209, ext. 116