Island students receive $150,300 in Island Institute college scholarships

Sixty-eight islanders receive financial awards for education

Posted 2015-06-02

ROCKLAND, ME—The Island Institute today announced scholarship awards to 68 students through its Island Education Fund. The scholarships, totaling $150,300, benefit island students attending colleges, universities, and technical schools across the U.S. and Canada.

“These scholarships are made possible by the generous support of our donors,” said Karen Burns, the Institute’s community development director. “Because of their generosity, dozens of island students will have help paying for college or other post-secondary education. That’s a big deal for these communities.”

The students, their parents, and island community members attended a luncheon on Saturday, May 30 at Point Lookout Resort in Northport for the announcement of the scholarship awards.

Six students from Down East islands received scholarships from the Sumner Foundation, and nine island students received special named awards:

  • Taylor Littlefield (University of New England) and Ellie Reidy (Wagner College), both of Vinalhaven, received the Louis W. Cabot Academic and Community Leadership Scholarship, given to a graduating senior who exemplifies academic excellence and who is recognized by peers, teachers, and the community as personifying the true spirit of leadership in service to others.
  • Blake Reidy (University of New England) of Vinalhaven received a Nancy and George Putnam Scholarship, awarded to students who demonstrate high academic achievement as well as the positive attitude and ambition needed to overcome unique challenges and difficult circumstances.
  • Leta Hallowell (Duke University) of North Haven received the Otter Island Scholarship, awarded to students of good academic standing who are attending specific colleges around the country.
  • Alexandra Slivinsky (Burlington College) of Vinalhaven and Erica Papkee (Boston College) of Long Island received the S. Parkman Shaw Scholarship, given to a college upperclassman who demonstrates not only successful academic growth and achievement during his or her college career, but also the capacity to overcome unique challenges and/or difficult circumstances.
  • Autumn Johnson (Bowdoin College) of Islesboro and Amelia Mitchell (Hamilton College) of Peaks Island received the Sweet Scholarship, awarded to graduating seniors who exemplify a combination of academic excellence and leadership.
  • Charlotte Eisenberg (John Jay College) of Peaks received the Seth Jordan Memorial Fund Scholarship, awarded to a graduating high school senior with the highest academic standing in Casco Bay.



An image of the scholars at Point Lookout is available in our Dropbox. CONTACT: Jason Mann, (207) 619-4691 or 

About the Island Institute:

The Island Institute is a non-profit organization based in Rockland, Maine that works to sustain Maine’s island and remote coastal communities. The organization’s work falls into six primary categories: community development, economic development, education, energy, marine resources, and media.