Jack Sullivan/Island Institute

Maine State Senator Dave Miramant talks to members of the MIC during the August 2017 meeting


2018 Meeting Dates | Representatives | Minutes

The Maine Islands Coalition (MIC) is a collaboration of island communities, facilitated by Island Institute staff, that discusses and, when possible, reaches consensus on issues brought forward by its appointed community representatives.

Initiated at a meeting hosted by the Institute in the fall of 2002, and formally organized in 2003, the Maine Islands Coalition sets its own agenda and schedules meetings four to five times a year. The purpose of the group is to provide a consistent—if not always unified—voice for islands in Augusta, to the press, and to outside groups. Since islands are generally sparsely populated, this provides a group of citizens with common interests and problems a stronger voice at the state level.

Maine Islands Coalition representatives are selected by town officials in order to make sure that the representatives are somehow accountable to the people they represent. A term of appointment lasts three years, and there are no term limits.

For more information about the Maine Islands Coalition, please contact:

Roger Berle, MIC Co-Chair, Cliff Island
Email: rkberle@msn.com 
Phone: (207) 781-5331

Donna Wiegle, MIC Co-Chair, Swan's Island
Email: donna@swansisland.org
Phone: (207) 526-4101

Kate Tagai, Community Development Director
Email: ktagai@islandinstitute.org
Phone: (207) 594-9209, ext. 116

 

2018 MIC Meeting Dates

Date: March 1st
Place: Augusta, Maine

Date: Friday, May 4th
Place: 4th Floor, Island Institute

Date: Friday, August 3rd
Place: 4th Floor, Island Institute

Date: Friday, November 2nd
Place: 4th Floor, Island Institute

 


MIC Representatives

MIC representatives and alternates are appointed or elected by the governing officials of the town or in the case of non-municipal islands, a local association or civic group of the community.

Janet Anderson (Rep) – Islesboro
Email: manager@townofislesboro.com

Scott Auspland (Rep) – Diamond Cove
Email: Indyred99@gmail.com

Roger Berle (Co-Chair) – Cliff Island
Email: rkberle@msn.com

Michelle Brown (Alt) – Peaks Island
Email: brownmichh@aol.com

Kendra Chubbuck (Rep) – Isle au Haut
Email: twinbees@gwi.net

Cheryl Crowley (Alt) – Cliff Island
Email: cherylcrowley@netzero.net

Andy Dorr (Alt) – Vinalhaven
Email: townmanager@townofvinalhaven.org

Jay Corson (Rep) – Chebeague
Email: jaycorson@live.com

Arch Gilles (Alt) – Islesboro
Email: arch@gillies.com

Rudi Graf (Alt) – Isle au Haut
Email: rwgraf32@gmail.com

Mark Greene (Rep) – Long Island
Email: mlongreene2@aol.com

Merton Howard (Rep) – North Haven
Email: baxjaxh@outlook.com

Beverly Johnson (Alt) – Chebeague Island
Email: bjohnson@chebeague.net

McAleney, Mary (Alt) – Long Island
Email: mcaleney@gmail.com

Mary Anne Mitchell (Alt) – Peaks Island
Email: papouchemitchell@yahoo.com

Eva Murray (Rep) – Matinicus
Email: breadandiron@gmail.com

Tom Powell (Rep) – Cranberry Isles
Email: tom.powell@outlook.com

Barbara Raimondi (Rep) – Great Diamond
Email: braimondi54@gmail.com

Beverly Roxby (Rep) – Frenchboro
Email: beverlyteach@gmail.com

Kathy Warren (Rep) – Vinalhaven
Email: kwarren@vinalhavenschool.org

Donna Wiegle (Co-Chair) – Swan's Island
Email: donna@swansisland.org

Sam Whitener (Alt) – Long Island
Email: samuel.whitener@gmail.com

 


Minutes

2017
2016
2015
2014
2013
2012