2016 Meeting Dates | Representatives | Minutes

The Maine Islands Coalition (MIC) is a collaboration of island communities, facilitated by Island Institute staff, that discusses and, when possible, reaches consensus on issues brought forward by its appointed community representatives.

Initiated at a meeting hosted by the Institute in the fall of 2002, and formally organized in 2003, the Maine Islands Coalition sets its own agenda and schedules meetings four to five times a year. The purpose of the group is to provide a consistent—if not always unified—voice for islands in Augusta, to the press, and to outside groups. Since islands are generally sparsely populated, this provides a group of citizens with common interests and problems a stronger voice at the state level.

Maine Islands Coalition representatives are selected by town officials in order to make sure that the representatives are somehow accountable to the people they represent. A term of appointment lasts three years, and there are no term limits.

For more information about the Maine Islands Coalition, please contact:

Roger Berle, MIC Co-Chair, Cliff Island
Email: rkberle@msn.com 
Phone: (207) 781-5331

Donna Wiegle, MIC Co-Chair, Swan's Island
Email: donna@swansisland.org
Phone: (207) 526-4101

Karen Burns, Community Development Director
Email: kburns@islandinstitute.org
Phone: (207) 594-9209, ext. 102

 

2016 MIC Meeting Dates

Date: Friday, November 18th
Place: 4th Floor, Island Institute
Topic: Early Childhood and Afterschool Programs

 

MIC Representatives

MIC representatives and alternates are appointed or elected by the governing officials of the town or in the case of non-municipal islands, a local association or civic group of the community.

Berle, Roger (Co-Chair) – Cliff Island
Email: rkberle@msn.com

Brown, Michelle (Rep) - Peaks Island
Email: brownmichh@aol.com

Chubbuck, Kendra (Rep.) – Isle au Haut
Email: twinbees@gwi.net

Crowley, Cheryl (Alt) – Cliff Island
Email: cherylcrowley@netzero.net

Dorr, Andy (Alt.) - Vinalhaven
Email: townmanager@townofvinalhaven.org

Corson, Jay (Rep.) - Chebeague
Email: jaycorson@live.com

Gannon, Lucinda (Rep.) - Diamond Cove
Email: gannonl@me.com

Gilles, Arch (Alt.) – Islesboro
Email: arch@gillies.com

Graf, Rudi (Alt.) – Isle au Haut
Email: rwgraf32@gmail.com

Greene, Mark (Rep.) – Long Island
Email: mlongreene2@aol.com

Hire, Tara (Rep.) – Monhegan
Email: t_hire@yahoo.com

Johnson, Beverly (Alt.) – Chebeague Island
Email: bjohnson@chebeague.net

McAleney, Mary (Alt.) – Long Island
Email: mcaleney@gmail.com

Mitchell, Mary Anne (Alt.) – Peaks Island
Email: papouchemitchell@yahoo.com

Murray, Eva (Rep.) – Matinicus
Email: murray@midcoast.com

Olson, Craig (Rep.) – Islesboro
Email: craig@artisanbooksandbindery.com

Pellerin, Pete (Alt.) - Chebeague
Email: maineislandenergy@gmail.com

Powell, Tom (Rep.) - Cranberry Isles
Email: tom.powell@outlook.com

Raimondi, Barbara (Rep.) - Great Diamond
Email: braimondi54@gmail.com

Roxby, Beverly (Rep.) – Frenchboro
Email: beverlyteach@gmail.com

Warren, Kathy (Rep.) – Vinalhaven
Email: kwarren@vinalhavenschool.org

Wiegle, Donna (Co-Chair) – Swan's Island
Email: donna@swansisland.org

 

Minutes

2016
2015
2014
2013
2012